Frugal Endeavors

September 16 to 22, 2017

Whoo hoo, I got a raise!

Well me and every other minimum wage worker in British Columbia. Still, in my mind it is still reason to celebrate. And it finally rained! Good times are on the horizon.

A rose from my mom’s garden.

My week started with a visit to my mom’s. She bought 2 boxes of chicken breasts on a BOGO and gave one to me. She also sent me home with a rose from her garden.

Even though I life is pretty good, this week found us still careful with our pennies. I used an Amazon gift card, bought using points, to reduce the cost of an online purchase. I made muffins and Double Chocolate Zucchini bread with plum butter (instead of the expensive oil) and home-grown zucchini for my work snacks. I also used the recipe from the Tightwad Gazette to make another batch of granola for my breakfasts.

This recipe is a winner.

Keeping the Pantry Stocked.

This week’s entry might seem like a bit of a stretch but bear with me. While out for a walk, I came across some of these growing wild:

Grapes!

Of course I picked some! They were super sweet and juicy, and fortunately, full of seeds. When I reached the coffee shop (my destination) I used a scrap of paper to make an envelope to house these seeds.

Seed envelope from a scrap of paper.

Next spring I will put them in some dirt and see if I can get them to grow. I would love to include home canned grape juice and grape jelly in my future pantry.

Stash Busting.

The Man got sick of my whining and went out and bought me a new iron. By strange coincidence, a coworker helping a friend move, gifted me with a second-hand iron. Now I have a brand-new iron, a spare, and a new shirt to wear as I was able to finish the shirt I started last week.

Looking forwards to Christmas.

I ordered some socks. They were free, what can I say.  This offer sounded too good to be true so I will wait and see. If they show up, I know just what stocking they will be in on Christmas morning.

How about you? What did you do this week to save money? Leave a comment and tell me all about it.

4 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. Congrats on your raise! Nice to see you are still so thrifty!
    I had two bulbs burnt out on my dash board. Instead of taking it to the dealership to have them replaced I watched a YouTube video on “how to”
    Don’t bit myself and only cost $12 for the bulbs 😃

    Like

  2. Congratulations to you and your fellow wage earners of British Columbia!
    Ever trickle is so welcome, isn’t it?
    Once again , your co-workers rock!

    Jill
    …still giggling about those socks in NYC!

    Like

Leave a Reply

