Frugal Endeavors

Oregon Grape berries

August 4 to August 10, 2017

This was a less productive week compared to last week. The heat and crowds of tourists took up too much of my energy and motivation. Still, I did manage to complete a few tasks that will save us money in the months to come.

As I do most weeks, I stuck to my frugal guns and saved money buy packing my lunch, hanging my laundry, and eating at home.

Filling the Pantry

The summer heat and smoke from the forest fires burning in our province has made my kitchen feel like the pits of Hell. So I figured now was as good as time as ever to pickle some of the zucchinis in my garden and make my very hot kitchen smell like vinegar instead of brimstone. I ended up with about 5 pints of zucchini bread and butter pickles. This is more than enough for our needs.

Bread and Butter Pickles for the pantry.

Stash Busting

I didn’t do much in the way of sewing this week as my second story sewing room was hotter than my kitchen so my stash of fabric remains untouched. I did however, reduce my stash of paper by making seed packets from old calendar pages. Not much of an accomplishment but it is still something.

And that’s it for this week. How about you? Leave a comment and tell me about how you saved money this week.

Leave a Reply

