Frugal Endeavors

Saskatoons!

July 13 – July 20, 2017

This week was a week of ups and downs.

The first entry in the down column was a batch of granola I made that got burnt and went directly from the crockpot to the garbage. Then there was an unexpected bill and an issue with the truck that will need to be repaired. And then I looked up at the hill while checking my garden to see a bear gorging himself on my Saskatoon crop.

In the up column was the realization that we can come up with enough to pay the unexpected bill and that insurance will cover the repair to the truck but there was no hope for the granola or the Saskatoon crop. Further entries in the up column include the generosity of my friends and the natural bounty at my feet.

I helped one friend clean out her house. I brought home a battery for the trailer, an enameled pot, a couple of jam jars, and a lot of tea.

Another friend allowed me to harvest some immature walnuts from a tree in her yard. I am using these to make a walnut liqueur for Christmas gift giving.

This is what baby walnuts look like on the inside.

Mother Nature was responsible for several entries in the plus column. We harvested our first crop of potatoes from our garden. It might have been a small harvest, but fresh baby potatoes can make almost any day better.

Oh baby potatoes, how I love thee.

The Man and I found another Saskatoons shrub (tree?) on our property that the bear did not find. We also found a patch of huckleberries. I should have enough to make a couple of batches of jam when it cools down.

Upon reflection, I can say that there were more ups than downs this week. Can’t ask for more than that!

How about you? How was your week?

4 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. I’m so glad you can make use of those walnuts! I’m intrigued to see it turn out. Once I gather strength, speed and time, I will join you in that endeavour

    Like

    • The recipe made a lot. If it works out, you are getting some. Hope you like it. 🙂 There is always next year. There is also lots of time to research how to use your beautiful tree. Thanks for letting me gather them.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Frugal Endeavors | hip roof barn

  3. Pingback: Frugal Endeavors | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

