Frugal Endeavors – Happy Canada Day

 

These little guys keep getting into my guest room. I catch them and set them free outside.

June 27 to July 4, 2017

For me, Canada Day has always marked the beginning for summer. Summer presents all kinds of different opportunities to stretch my frugal muscle.

I spent one of my days off at the beach. I brought snacks and drinks from home and enjoyed my time in the sun. I did wear sunscreen, sit in the shade, and wear long sleeves but I still got a bit of a burn.

Summer means that I can drive my little red car, thus saving money on gas as it is easier on fuel than our big truck. However, having an older car means there will be repairs. This week The Man replaced the battery and the alternator. I am so thankful he was able to do the work himself and we didn’t have to pay to have the car towed and fixed by a mechanic.

I made soup from the chicken carcass left over from our chicken dinner.

Keeping the Pantry Stocked

This week I harvested lemon balm, mint, rhubarb, and rose petals. The lemon balm and mint is hanging to dry and I will use them for tea. The rose petals are infusing a jar of olive oil for soap making and I stewed the rhubarb for my breakfasts this week.

Stash Busting

I have completely failed my Stash Busting challenge because this happened:

A friend of mine cleared out her sewing room and sent me two big boxed of fabric and fabric scraps. She has amazing taste and ever piece of fabric is beautiful. I have used some in the purple quilt. I have spotted a couple of pieces that I am going to add to my Christmas quilt. I like the idea that I will be reminded of my friend every time I use my quilt.

How did you save money this week? Tell me about in the comment section below. I always love hearing from you.

2 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors – Happy Canada Day

  1. What an exquisitely patterned little creature your uninvited guest is!
    I loved peeking at the exploding fabric loveliness of you surprise stash boxes,
    such a wonderful array of colors and possibilities to ruminate on! That was a
    wonderful gift.

    I dried a sack of Vidalia onions and some very large zucchini in the dehydrator in preparation for winter soups/stews, air dried oregano and chives and made batches of basil pesto and cilantro/parsley pesto for the freezer for winter use.
    It’s so hot and humid it helps to think about cooler times to come!

    Jill
    Crabby in summertime NYC

    Like

    • Thanks Jill, we are a little crabby here in the Kootanays too. The temperature today and tomorrow is 38 Celsius – not sure what that is in Fahrenheit but it is hot regardless of what measurement system you use. Thankfully there is no humidity.
      I love seeing the frogs. Frogs have always been my “totem animal” and see them as bringing me good luck.

      It sounds like you are making good progress on your winter pantry! Good for you.

      Here’s to cooler weather in the future!

      Like

Leave a Reply

