Frugal Endeavors

This year, the deer did not eat my roses.

June 16 – 26, 2017

It was a quiet week here at the ole homestead.

I did the things I usually do to save money such as using the clothes line to dry my laundry dried clothes and eating at home using mostly ingredients from the freezer and the pantry. This week, I used a pound of ground moose meat to make a burrito casserole,  which feed us for two nights, and Amish Steaks. I also picked more rhubarb and stewed it. I have been eating for breakfast with strawberry yogurt and my homemade granola and I am loving it. Healthy and it costs me almost nothing.

I downloaded a few free books from Amazon. The internet also provided me with a recipe for a non-toxic weed killer using ingredients I had on hand. Time will tell if it really works.

I picked up an extra shift. This helps make up for the shifts I lost while I was on holidays.

I made a batch of soap using oil that I had infused with Platain (Plantago lanceolata) and Comfrey (Symphytum officinale) . I added activated charcoal, avocado oil, and bentonite clay. These ingredients help draw toxins out of the skin and encourage healing. This soap will be good for skin conditions such as boils and acne. I was hoping it would be much darker but I am happy with the “cement” look of this soap.

Cement Soap

The Man and I went out to explore the area behind our property. I found a field of Arnica (Arnica montana) in bloom! What luck! I will use some in combination with the Comfrey (Symphytum officinaleI have growing all over the place to make a liniment for bruises, sprains, and sore muscles.

Arnica

The Man spent many hours getting my old car running for the summer. This car is coming to the end of its life span and doesn’t owe us anything so we were hoping that it wouldn’t require expensive. Luckily, it only needed a new battery and a fuse. My fingers are crossed that that is the all it will need and I can use it to drive to work for the next couple of months to save gas and free up the truck for firewooding.

How did you save money this week? Tell me about in the comment section below. I always love hearing from you.

2 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. How blessed to find a field of Arnica. My foraging days are on hold for the time being, but I do remember the treasures I’d find, in the fields of Vermont. I had an expert on herb lore who went with me. A treasured friendship of the time. Enjoy your makings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

