Frugal Endeavors – Mother’s Day

I think that this is my favorite tulip from my mom’s garden.

May 9 to 15, 2017

We remained pretty frugal this week despite Mother’s Day. 

There was a provincial election this week. I exercised my democratic rights and voted at our local community center. While I was there, I discovered that they had a free book exchange. I found a book by an author I like.  If I hadn’t taken the time to vote, I would not have discovered this resource. Karma.

We visited a neighbouring city. I ventured into their local thrift store and spent $1.50 for a new shirt and $3.00 for a new pair of pants. I am happy to have found a new outfit for $4.50.

I used my crockpot to rendered a package of pork fat I got free from the butcher. I ended up with about 3 cups of lard. I have another package in the fridge waiting for my next day off. Using the crockpot to render lard is a pretty easy and safe but I still don’t feel comfortable leaving hot fat unattended. Free lard is really nice and definitely fits into my budget but a kitchen fire – not so much.

I went for another long walk to return the movie I borrowed last week. I have put a hold on the next movie in the series. I hope I get to watch it soon. We are enjoying our movie nights cuddled up on the couch and you can’t beat the price!

I designed a label for a bottle of wine for my mom for Mother’s day. I think it worked out well and she was pleased with her gift and I know she will use it. In return, she cut a bouquet of flowers for me from her garden. We were both happy to receive gifts that will be used and enjoyed and that did not create a financial burden for the giver.

The picture I used is of my and my three brothers on New Year’s Eve 1977!

While I was visiting with my mom, I went shopping in the boxes of stuff I have stored at her house. I came home with some canning supplies and tools that I hope will be useful.

First harvest of the year!

I made my first garden harvest.

I used the rhubarb to make a strawberry rhubarb cake . It was good but it didn’t rock my world. I think I will try a different recipe next time.

I used the dandelions to make dandelion jelly because it is unique (or maybe a little weird) and I think it is important to learn to use the resources you have at hand. I haven’t tried it yet but I will let you know how it is when I get the chance. I put up several small jars that I will use for stocking stuffers.

How did you save money this week? Leave a comment and tell me all about it!

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

7 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors – Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

