Frugal Endeavors – Hello May!

This was a picture of a double rainbow over our house. If you squint just right, you can see the second rainbow.

May 3 to May 8, 2017

May has brought with it warmer weather. The change in temperature meant that we could move some of our frugal activities into the great outdoors. Fortunately, we have not been directly affected by any flooding in our area, but my thoughts go out to all those who are.

Of course, the break in the rainy weather means that I hung my laundry out on the clothesline.

I started walking this week not only to take advantage of the sunshine but also to improve my fitness. A winter of lounging around inside all winter has taken its toll. There are so many health benefits associated with walking and it doesn’t cost me a penny.

The return of the sun means that I spent more time out in the garden this week. I planted another homeless Easter lily and two more red onion sets. I planted the onions in an open flower bed because I want to see if the deer and gophers will eat them. The gardening books all say that they won’t, but I have never seen a deer reading a gardening book. If the don’t eat the onions, next year I will add a new bed to my garden without worrying about fencing.

I am looking forwards to the chance to make more soap. I like to make my soap outside because, sometimes, I make a real mess. The butcher at work is collecting pork fat for me instead of throwing it out. I will render this down to make more lard for soap making. I love that I can turn, what is considered a waste product into a useful, quality product.

Our entertainment this week was also influenced by the weather. I walked down to our mobile library to pick up a DVD to watch. The walk from our house took an hour so I was happy I didn’t attempt this walk in the pouring rain.

We have Rufus Hummingbirds here right now. They are too fast for me to get a picture of them, so I borrowed one from The Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

The warm weather means that the humming birds are back. We have spent a few evenings watching these tiny, but very aggressive, birds establish their territory. There is some controversy surrounding the red dye they use in commercial hummingbird food. Instead of buying food for the hummingbird feeder, we are using a homemade recipe thus saving both our money and the health of these little birds.

 

I did spend some money this week. I found a bread maker on the local Facebook buy & sell. I am hoping to make my own gluten free bread as the stuff in the store is frequently almost inedible and always very expensive. If I make at least 3 loaves of decent bread using my new bread maker, it will have paid for itself.

You need a lot of bread to buy this bread!

How about you? How did you remain frugal this week?

5 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors – Hello May!

  1. I’m a big advocate of walking, too. I ran a 5k a few years back and it did a number on my varicose veins. I like Zumba, too, but usually just do it off youtube because it’s so convenient. I had a fairly frugal week… DD was sick so that always throws things off kilter a bit.

    Like

    • I hope your DD is feeling better. I would love to try Zumba it sounds like so much fun. I don’t think I could ever do a 5K just not a runner. I do admire those who do. Good for you even if your veins complained!

      Like

      • Zumba is a lot of fun and doesn’t feel like a work out. I did the 5k as a training program with my church and suffering was a good way to meet new friends! LOL

        Like

  2. good luck with your bread machine tadpole ….. I love mine too, but just use the dough cycle, I don’t care for the shape of the loaf baked in the machines. I just bring the dough out, shape it and bake in oven, or make buns, or sandwich shapes. ann lee s have fun with it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

