Garbage Garden – Week 5

My little plants in their new home.

This week I brought everything home and set them in the dirt and the garden.

I was impressed by the root development of the red onion sets, even though they did not seem to be doing much in terms of leaf growth.

Red onion roots

I may have waited too long to plant the romaine. I fear that the mould and decay took a heavy toll on these plants too much and I don’t think they will recover. I planted them anyways because they have come this far and they deserve a chance.

Sad looking lettuce.

I am a little sad about the health of the romaine. It was so robust and I couldn’t believe how much it grew in the first few weeks. I thought for sure that I would be well on my way to my first caeser salad of the year. I must remember that this is an experiment and a learning process. There will be failures. Too bad as it looks like the cost of romaine will remain high for some time.

About 5 minutes after getting my plants in the ground, it hailed. Luckily I got my babies covered up with a cardboard box and assorted plant pots and they survived their harsh introduction to the wild. Hopefully, they will thrive in the coming weeks.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Garbage Garden – Week 5

  1. I am enjoying following your project and I’m cheering the romaine on. I recently wrote about the high produce prices and your creative approach to what would normally be thrown out is terrific. I wonder how restaurants are dealing with the romaine & iceberg prices.

    Like

    • Thanks for the compliment! Its an experiment but one I hope works. Unfortunately, we don’t eat out much so I can’t tell you how our restaurants are faring. My guess is that they serve smaller salads. Maybe I should do a little research out in the field, strictly for educational purposes, you understand. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My daughter told me her favorite restaurant had signs up saying they were our of lettuce so the menu was very limited. My SIL said Taco Bell tacos had very little lettuce but the price went up too.
    I’m hoping your garden does well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just had an entire head of garlic start to sprout, so inspired by your little garden I planted all the little bulbs into window boxes on my little front porch. Even the scapes and shoots will be a tasty addition to meals.
    I no longer put annual flowers into my boxes and pots. While I miss the color I have planted a collection of herbs instead. I am able to dry enough during the warm months to see me through the winter.
    It always amazes me how many people have never see herbs growing, I get some interesting comments.
    Rooting for the romaine and the other brave plants….

    Jill

    Like

Leave a Reply

