Garbage Garden – Week Four

Garbage garden after four weeks.

This week there were some successes and some failures.

The green onions sitting on my window sill at home are growing like weeds.

The celery is also growing like crazy:

Celery after a week – grow little celery, grow.

My little garden looked good at the beginning of the week but by the end, you could tell that they were starting to decay and get moldy.

This one didn’t make it

Some of the Red Onion sets aren’t looking too good either:

My success with growing garden plants inside always hits a limit. I don’t know if it is the lack of sunlight or the dry, inside air but, like people, my garden plants need lots of fresh air and sunshine to thrive. Most of these plants can survive cooler temperatures so I figured they will have a chance if I move them outside to a real garden.

The time has come to take my little plants home.  It was set the garbage garden free

Wish us luck.

4 thoughts on “Garbage Garden – Week Four

  1. Very neat! I have a coleus inside for the winter and I am hoping to try rooting some pieces of it to have more coleus. I am grateful it survived inside over winter.
    I agree it can be hard to get plants to grow from seed inside without a grow light.

    Like

  2. You may want to add a layer of small rocks or pebbles to the containers that romaine and celery stumps are in. Especially with celery, I’ve had less mold/rot and more roots grow if only the very bottoms of the plant are sitting in water. Love scrap gardening!

    Like

    • That is excellent advice. They was way too much moisture for my little plants. I have since taken a couple more stumps home to try another method. Hopefully it works out this time – I am craving salads!

      Like

Leave a Reply

