Canning Mastery Challenge – Making Soup Base

The cold and wet weather of February cries out for a hot bowl of soup. This is how I made a soup base for this month’s canning mastery challenge.

Do you have a kinder, more adaptable friend in the food world than soup? Who soothes you when you are ill? Who refuses to leave you when you are impoverished and stretches its resources to give a hearty sustenance and cheer? … Soup does its loyal best, no matter what undignified conditions are imposed upon it. You don’t catch steak hanging around when you’re poor and sick, do you?

Judith Martin (Miss Manners)

This month’s challenge from the Food in Jars website was to preserve food using salt. I opted to try out the recipe for soup base. Unlike last month’s challenge, this month’s challenge was a success!

Veggies!

It was a challenge – I don’t have a food processor, which meant that I had to try different kitchen appliances. I started with my blender but it didn’t work. The bulky carrots and stringy celery kept getting stuck on the blades and no blending occurred.

I was a little worried when I looked down at my mess of cut vegetables but then I realized that people have been processing vegetables to preserve in salt for hundreds, if not thousands of years without food processors. Certainly, I could find a solution! I dug through my cupboards and found my little “whiz banger.” I dumped each small batch of pulverized vegetables into a large bowl, added the salt and stirred it all together.

This method worked well until I got to the dried tomatoes. Their leathery texture made them impervious to the blades of the whiz banger. “Not to worry,” I told myself as I knew I could rely on my trusty coffee grinder to grind them up like I did when I made tomato paste. The coffee grinder work – until it didn’t. I blew the motor of my little coffee grinder. Luckily, I had a spare (coffee is important to me). Eventually, the tomatoes were all ground and added to the bowl.

Mixing it up.

Mixing it up.

I ran everything through the whiz banger one more time before putting into a large glass jar for storage.

All done!

It is not as paste like as the soup base on the Food in Jars website, but is it ever good!

What I learnt:

  • This was the first time I made anything using leeks. I think I will be using them more often.
  • The parsley stems are too hard to pulverize.  Next time I will remove the leaves and discard the stems.
  • I will grow and dry tomatoes this year. For years, I dried my tomatoes only to give them away because I was never too sure how to use them. Now I know that in addition to making tomato powder, I can use them to make this soup base.
  • I think I need a food processor.

The Cost:

At my store, you can buy a box of stock cubes or envelopes for between $3.48 to $5.29. You need 1/2 a bullion cube or a single envelope to make 1 cup of stock. This means that it would cost between $0.26 to $0.21 to flavor each cup of stock.  A single teaspoon of this soup base is all that is needed to flavour a cup of stock. This recipe made about 2 liters of soup base. According to google, there are a little more than 405 teaspoons in 2 liters! That means that I could make a lot of stock! but at what cost?

Ingredients

Cost
February 2017

Onion $1.04
Garlic – I bought 3 heads of garlic for $1.59 and used slightly more than ½ of one head. $0.26
Celery – $10.79 /kg! The 3 stalks I used amounted to about 60 grams $1.00
Leeks – 0.855 kg at 1.28/kg $1.09
Carrots $1.39
Parsley – Normally, we would sell this at our store for .99 a bunch. I got mine for free from our produce guy because he ended up with way too much. $0.99
Dried tomatoes – used my own dried tomatoes from our garden but packages of dried tomatoes (not in oil) are available in grocery stores. $5.69
Sea Salt – roughly $3.00 for 900 grams or 31 ounces. $2.34

 Total cost to make 2 liters

$13.80

Cost per serving

$0.03

Each time I choose to use my homemade soup base I would save about $0.20, not too bad at all. Of course, your cost would decrease if you use your own garden produce.

Will I do it again?

Yes, absolutely. The Man use some of the soup base in a stew.  The stew was delicious.  This stuff is delicious and versatile.  I can’t wait to try a batch using veggies grown in my garden.

While we are on the subject of soup…

4 thoughts on “Canning Mastery Challenge – Making Soup Base

  1. I Had success too, well except for the peppercorns. They remained stubbornly intact while making my ancient food processor sound like it was launching itself to mars. Next time I’ll just add finely powdered white pepper and mix it with the salt beforehand.

    Even with a processor I still finely chopped all the veg, especially the stringy parsley stems, and snipped the dried tomatoes into little bits with kitchen scissors first. My processor is almost as ancient as I am an neither of us needs the extra strain!!
    I was gifted with some shitake mushrooms and a bag of Meyer lemons from a friend who was going out of town and doing a fridge clear-out .I added the mushrooms as I was short on dried tomatoes. {The summer’s bizarre weather and resulting tomato blight was a disaster for my pantry,}

    Years a go a friend used to dry tomatoes, woody asparagus/mushroom stems to make veg powder. If you chop them and freeze them hard first they powder nicely in a good blender. When the blender died I found it didn’t work as well in the processor….more coarse then powder.

    A vegan friend added a half cup of finely powdered nutritional yeast to her mixture for added B vitamins and flavor. She said it worked well.
    I”m thinking I might try a mushroom based mix when I can find them at a very good price.
    This was a wonderful learning challenge. Thanky you so much for posting the link when you did.

    Also since I had the unexpected gift of the lemons I also did the salted lemon preserves. They worked out very well! I had done some with regular lemons a few years ago, but the Meyers are so much sweeter and thin skinned they are especially nice.

    Waiting for spring…
    Jill

    Like

    • What a good idea to add the mushrooms to your mix. I wish I would have thought about that as I have a jar of dried mushrooms in my pantry that I have never even opened.

      We had a less than perfect growing season last year too. I am really hoping that this year will be better.

      Take care

      Like

  2. This is wonderfully written thank you. I too did the soup base concentrate. I dehydrate tomato skins in summer when I am canning or just tomatoes. Then I grind them into powder. That is what I used in this concentrate and it worked. I also roast tomatoes when in season and freeze them in small batches which would also have been a good alternative I think.

    I dehydrated the soup base and I must tell you it is wonderful that way. I have added it to many meals and all are enhanced by it.

    I shall be following you more closely from now on

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Frugal Endeavors – Come on Spring! You can do it! | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

