Frugal Endeavors

A sign at a local yarn store. I laughed because I have killed several yarn spiders in my time

January 17 to 23, 2017

Compared to last week, this week was boring and blissful. The lack of excitement gave use time and motivation to save a bit of money.

Thankfully the weather has warmed up enough that we can economize on fuel by letting the fire go out at night. As an added bonus, we are both sleeping better as our room is colder. We did go ahead and purchase another cord of wood. We saved quite a bit of money on this cord because The Man spent the better part of a day plowing the road into the wood lot for the fire wood guy.

I also used my skills to bring in a little money this week. I replaced a zipper in a co-worker’s jacket. The cash I earned went straight into my Christmas fund.

This week, since I was not fighting the pain of a toothaches, I renewed my attach on my stash of fabric and made a cover for one of the pillows on our couch. I hope to make a matching pillow this week. I cut a quilting template from an empty laundry detergent bottle for another project I have planned.

I cut The Man’s hair again saving the cost of the barber. I also saved by making my own granola using ingredients from my pantry. I used a recipe I found online and added dried apples from our trees and raisins. I like to mix granola into yogurt for my mid-morning snack. I find that this keeps me from doing something ridiculous liking buying a bag of chips for breakfast because I get too hungry.

This week we spent about $55.75 on groceries for the two of us. This includes $5.00 for 4 jars of spaghetti sauce for the pantry.

This week, we did okay. Next week may be a different story.

How about you? What frugal things did you do this week?

2 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. spent 80$ this week on groceries just for me and didn’t even get everything i needed. got everything on sale and saved $25 on what it would have originally cost me, most of it will bring me well into next week but still need to spend probably $20- $40 more too round out two weeks worth of food, did add some to the pantry which is slowly building unfortunately all my baking seems to use it up just as fast.

    Like

    • I had forgotten how high grocery prices are in AB although if that’s groceries for two weeks, you are not doing too bad. I’m glad you are baking. Come visit in the fall and we can do some bulk canning for your pantry.

      Like

Leave a Reply

