Frugal Endeavors – Winter is here.

120516_1745_FrugalEndea1.jpg

The back of the barn in the first snow of the season

November 28 to December 5, 2016

It may have taken it’s time getting here, but winter has finally made its way to my neck of the woods. Here is how we keep frugal this week.

At this time of year, my stash busting focused on Christmas. I used some pretty, sparkly quilted fabric from my stash to make wine bottle bags and I made a few star ornaments for gifts and to hang on our tree.

Woven fabric stars

I picked up a few extra hours at work as I am training for another new position. It will mean early mornings, which I am not so happy with, but it will also mean fewer closing shifts, which does make me very happy.

A co-worker brought me a box of walnuts from her tree. I don’t know if I’m more excited about eating the walnuts or making things from the shells!

We ate from what we had in the fridge, freezer and pantry. I made another batch of gluten free peanut butter chocolate brownies to take in my lunches. The Man has been very diligent about opening the curtains during the day to take advantage of the free heat from the sun. Every little bit helps.

As I decided last week, I am using my pantry budget to fill some one else’s pantry and I made another donation to our local Christmas hamper program.

That’s it. Nothing amazing but it is the little things that add up over time.

How about you? How was your frugal week?

4 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors – Winter is here.

  1. You would be proud. We got a free turkey, bucket of frozen blueberries and a bag of frozen bananas! A lady near me posted in a FB group she was defrosting her freezer and these items needed to go!! Jumped on it!! My man made blueberry banana bread mmmmm. Still have half a bucket of blueberries left. Tonight he’s making stuffed turkey breast and already has the pot of turkey soup on! I thought of you when we made this score!

    Like

  2. what a gorgeous photo of the barn!! having lived in sunshine valley myself I enjoy the photos the most!! the frugality is great too! here on V.Island we also received snow which made it all look quite Christmassy, and so cold, 5 below today, not our usual. have a Merry Christmas, Ann Lee S

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

