Frugal Endeavors

One of the many kittens that live at my mom’s house. I’m not sure what this one is named, but she sure is pretty.

October 24 to October 31, 2016

Happy Halloween!

My week started with a real day off. I spent it puttering around my sewing room. I finished a Christmas gift, made some progress on a few other projects, and made a big mess. I just can’t be creative without leaving chaos in my wake!

I also found time to putter around in the kitchen. I made elderberry syrup to ward off winter colds and flues and hot chocolate mix, to ward off Dementors. I love this Hot Chocolate mix.

Our fall has been very mild so far. We harvested the remaining carrots from our garden and we picked another 20 pounds or so of apples. I can’t believe that we are still collecting fruit and digging up vegetables this close to November.

I needed to make space in our deep freeze so I made some soup and took a little of this and a little of that and a whole salmon to my mom. I set aside another salmon to give to another friend who has lost her job. My mom gifted me with a set of dishes she picked up from somewhere and 2 dozen eggs from her chickens. I gave a dozen of those eggs to my friend when I dropped off her fish.

At work, the current Thursday special is a five pound bag of potatoes for $1.70. I took in a bunch of cans to recycle and got enough cash to pay for a bag of potatoes.

The produce guy at work gave me all of the “ugly” limes that were not selling. I brought them home and added the peels to my dehydrator and some slices and peel to vinegar. I hope to have enough lime zest to make winter time treats and a nice smelling cleaning product.

Our poor stove is dying. It came with the house and it must be about 40 years old.  On Monday, The Man went to town to price out a new one.  He spent some time talking to the sales lady and discovered that the stove we were interested in would be on sale on Thursday.  By taking the time to talk to the sales staff and by waiting a few days, we ended up saving more than $100 on our new stove.

I hope you all have a happy and frugal Halloween. Leave a comment and tell me about your frugal week.

 

Leave a Reply

