Friendships, like old quilts, stand the test of time – a signature quilt

They say that friendships, like old quilts, stand the test of time.

The Man is lucky enough to have such a friendship.

These two raised their kids together, stood by each other in dark times, and have hunted together since forever.

This friend is building himself a new house.

The Man came to me and asked me if I could make a quilt as a house warming gift.

Of course I said “yes!” cause I am always looking for an excuse to hang out in fabric stores and to spend the day sewing.

The Man chose the pattern and picked the fabric.

Back from the fabric store

It’s a signature quilt and every square contains the name of a spot rich in memories and stories.

Most of them are areas where they hunted but I did notice the name of a few bars! I’m sure The Man will get around to telling me those stories one day.

We used the Friendship Album pattern from this book:

Front Cover

I printed out all twenty-five names on to a sheet of paper and then traced each name onto a patch using either the tape-the-paper to the window method or the improvised light box method.

Then I embroidered each name using a stem stitch.

I sewed the patched together and then sent the quilt top, batting and backing to a local long-arm quilter for quilting.

After binding the quilt, I cross stitched a label, which I appliqued to the backing.

Mike stayed with us last week and we were able to give him his new quilt.

He liked it.

I hope it will keep him warm in his new home.

2 thoughts on “Friendships, like old quilts, stand the test of time – a signature quilt

  1. Pingback: Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year – Progress | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

