Frugal Endeavors

Turkey.JPG

Happy Thanksgiving

October 4 to October 10, 2016

This week was Thanksgiving weekend in Canada. For me, it was a week full of blessings and a week touched with sadness. Being reminded of how precarious our lives can be makes me even more thankful for the blessings that come my way and strengthens my resolve to remain frugal so that I can put a little aside for tough times.

I learnt of the passing of a longtime family friend, the end of a close friend’s marriage, and another friend suddenly lost her job. I hurt for all my friends.

Due to declining business, my hours have been cut. Fortunately, I still have a job but it is time, once again, to tighten our belts.

I combined my “in town errands” with my last stint at my second job. I worked, paid a couple of bills, picked up a few groceries and checked a lottery ticket I found cleaning up. I’m sorry to inform you that I am still not a millionaire.

The Man was away in hunting camp this week. While he was gone, I ate from the pantry and used up left overs in the fridge for lunch and dinner – homemade chicken noodle soup and homemade macaroni and cheese. Yum!

Midway through making salsa, I discovered that I was out of tomato paste. I learnt that I can make tomato paste from dehydrated tomatoes.  I used that instead of running to the store thus saving both gas and money.

The Man went out to hunting camp to help a buddy. And help he did. His buddy filled both his moose tags. To say “thank you” he passed on one hind quarter and three bag of offcuts to grind into hamburger. Luckily, I had one bag of pork fat left. We added this to the ground meat. This is a lot of high quality meat that I am very grateful for. It will really help keep us feed this winter.

The hunting buddy did not want to transport the contents of his cooler all the way back home so he passed on a dozen farm eggs, and packages of deer smokies, pepperoni, and garlic sausage. We will be eating this bounty until its gone.

A sales rep at work gave me a package of (expensive) smokies to take home. Given the bounty of meat this week, I used the cryovac machine at work to package these for the freezer.

I went to a potluck one night after work to celebrate Thanksgiving. I brought a gluten free pumpkin cake using the last package of pumpkin that I froze last year, eggs from my mom, homemade gluten free flour mix, and homemade pumpkin pie spice.

https://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.ca/2005/12/maple-frosted-pumpkin-cake.html

The following evening, I celebrated Thanksgiving with my mom, brother, and youngest son. My mom isn’t interested in dealing with leftovers so I brought home the carcass to make soup and maybe even turkey pot pies. I will split what I make from the leftovers with her.

How about you? Leave a comment and tell me about what you are thankful for this week.

P1050507 (2).JPG

Don’t be a turkey! Leave a comment.

2 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. My goodness, you really had a good frugal week. Sorry to hear about your friends. Its sad. I wish I knew someone who hunts here in KY but unfortunately no one does. That cake looks delicious. I had a great frugal week too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

