Using what I have – Making tomato paste from dehydrated tomatoes

Last week, the universe was sending me a message that it was time to make some salsa.

I set to work chopping up onions and peppers. My little kitchen was a hive of productivity. And then I discovered – 

that I had no tomato paste!  And the grocery store was closed.

I turned to google.

I discovered that dehydrated tomatoes can be ground down to make your own tomato paste!

In my pantry I found these:

One is a jar of tomatoes I dehydrated last year from our mutant cherry tomato plant.

The second item is a coffee grinder left behind by the previous owner (in addition to pile of garbage, but that is a story for another time.)

The process was easy enough. I took about a handful of tomatoes at a time and ground them down in the coffee grinder until they were a fine powder.

According to my research, six tablespoons and ½ a cup of water was the equivalent of 6 ounces of tomato paste. This is roughly equivalent to a small can of tomato paste. I needed the equivalent of two small cans so I used ½ cup of my newly ground tomato paste and 1 cup of water. I stirred the mixture until the powder was fully mixed into the water. I then added the mixture to the pot of salsa on the stove.

My pantry came to the rescue again.

If you want to learn more, visit one of these sites:

This blogger uses tomato skins, that would otherwise end up in the compost, to make her tomato paste:

2 thoughts on “Using what I have – Making tomato paste from dehydrated tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Frugal Endeavors | hip roof barn

  2. Pingback: Canning Mastery Challenge – Making Soup Base | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

