Frugal Endeavors

Early morning sunrise from our bedroom window.

September 26 to October 3, 2016

Hello October! The chill in the air tells me that fall is here. Here are some of the frugal things we did this week.

I made another batch of laundry soap using soap scraps. The last batch I made lasted me 6 months. If this batch lasts at long, it means that I will have spent $0.00 on laundry detergent this year!

I gratefully accepted some free hot peppers from a friend at work. While I was grocery shopping in town, I found bell peppers on sale for 30% off. I think the universe is trying to tell me to make some salsa.

My second job in town is drawing to a close. I have tried to make the most of it while I can. I used most of one pay cheque from this job to pay off the balance on a credit card. I have also used this gig as a way to save money on gas. Since I am in town anyways, I have been using the time to visit my Mom and my youngest. As an added bonus, my mom usually sends me home with fresh eggs from her chickens and I have been teaching the youngest how to drive a standard before the roads get bad. I get baking supplies, my mom gets some company, and hopefully, the youngest boy will finally be able to get his driver’s licences.

For my pantry challenge this week, I added about 1 ½ liters of lard and two jars of mayonnaise to my pantry. The lard was free and the mayo was on sale for 2 for $7.00. Believe it or not, that’s half price around here.

The Man made another gluten-free pear sponge cake using some of the pears we collected. This is quickly becoming one of my favorite treats. In return, I made a batch of fudge for the Man to take with him to hunting camp – well, he got to take what was left over.

As I mentioned earlier, I added about a 1 ½ liters (maybe 6 cups or 3 pounds?) of lard to my pantry for free. The butcher at work has been saving pork fat for me. He usually disposes of it and he was happy to give it to me. I brought it home and rendered it in my crockpot. My original intention was to use it for making soap but the more research I do, the more I am think that I should be using it as our go-to cooking fat. Seriously! After a lifetime of being told to avoid fats such as lard at all costs, I am having a crisis of faith.

How about you? What frugal accomplishments can you claim this week?

Leave a Reply

