Frugal Endeavors

August 23 to August 29, 2016

Once again we took advantage of what Mother Nature had to offer.

While The Man was off exploring new firewood possibilities, he found some ripe elderberries. He came home with a few new sites for future firewood gathering and an ice cream bucket full of berries. I am really grateful for these as I haven’t had time for any foraging and I rely on elderberry syrup to help my immune system over the winter. I washed the berries and when they were dry, I put them in the freezer so I can make syrup when my work schedule slows down in the fall.

The Man also noticed that the apples are ripe (mainly because our yard if full of bear scat). I came home to this basket of loveliness on my counter:

I was able to find a little time this week to can the pears we picked some time ago. I wasn’t sure how they would work out so I only canned about 5 pints. I had the left overs in my lunch and they were good!

My work had canned chili on sale for a dollar a can. This week I can proudly say that I meet my pantry challenge as I added 5 cans of chili ($5.00) and 5 pints of pears (free) to my shelves.

Additional frugal successes included renewing the insurance on one vehicle with a small adjustment. This will reduce our monthly bill by $29.

How about you? Leave me a comment and tell me about your week.

2 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

Leave a Reply

