Frugal Endeavors

August 8, 2016 to August 14, 2016

My frugal accomplishments were largely due to the generosity of those around me. I am so lucky to have the friends I do. 

I helped the land lady next door move some furniture around. She brought me over a box of canning jars and two small garbage cans.

One co-worker cleaned out her closet and I took home a few shirts. Another cleaned out her cupboards and I was the happy recipient of a bag of rice flour and a container of xanthan gum.

I recycled my bottles at work and used the proceeds to pay for half a paint set to make a Christmas gift.

I picked a box of pears, I think I picked them at the right time. I have set them out to ripen and I will try canning them sometime next week.

No canning this week. I did however, buy a very large pork lion from work for an excellent price. It will be cut up and froze for meals this winter.

How about you? Leave a comment below and tell me about your week and how your friends help you out.

Bags of happiness!

4 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. At the end of the farmer’s market- some generous produce vendors always give away their leftover veggies. This week I got green beans. Last market we received a huge bunch of rhubarb that I cut up and froze for when we feel inspired to make pie.

    Like

  2. My Michigan bestie has a lovely garden, and I was blessed this weekend by her bounty. Herbs in the dehydrator. Tomatoes. Flowers for beautifying my apartment. Spaghetti squash and crookneck squash will also go into the dehydrator. I am from Vermont, where this is a very common occurrence – sharing of the bounty.
    Each time I season a dish, or reach into my dried foods pantry, she will be thanked.
    God is so good, all the time.

    Like

    • Sharing the garden wealth is a tradition around here. I pass on my extra produce and I have benefited from the generosity of others. I love that I am reminded of my friends and generosity when ever I reach into my pantry or freezer. Thank you for sharing your story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

