Frugal Endeavors

August 1, 2016 to August 7, 2016

I am s-l-o-w-l-y adjusting to my current work schedule. I’m still exhausted but I’m a little less so every day. This crazy schedule is only for a little while, and I know I can stand anything for a little while.

This year’s potato harvest snuggled up in my new potato storage bag.

I found a one liter glass bottle in some weeds by one of my flower beds. I brought it home, to reduce the fire hazard and because I can reuse it.

I pickled 5 pints of beets and canned 7 pints of peach pie filling. This might not sound like a lot, but it will last the two of us for the entire year.

I crocheted a couple of wash clothes during my lunch hours. I’m not sure if I’m going to keep them for myself or give them away.

The gardening lady brought in some more gardening excess from her garden and I took home a couple of zucchinis and some beets. I also took home another loaf of “defective” bread for free from our bakery.

In addition to gathering firewood, The Man has been in charge of meal planning and cooking. He made me some rice pudding for my snacks at work using pantry supplies and left over rice.

That’s it for us this week. Leave me a comment below and let me know how your week went.

4 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. I had to pull up my carrots as I had slugs in the tubs. Next year they will be up off the ground so hopefully they won’t return. I got a medium ziplock bag worth. Not bad considering I didn’t really do much with them. I had to pull my lettuce too for the same reason. My tomatoes are almost done, another couple of weeks I think. They have made tasty snacks and been awesome in salads all summer. We were given a bunch of beets and greens so I made a batch of beetniks from the leaves and blanched and froze the beets for borscht at a later time.

    Like

    • Nothing like free food! Our summer has been so weird here that my tomatoes are just now starting to set fruit. Don’t think I will be having any tasty snacks this year. How do you make beetniks?

      Like

  2. Hi there frugal lady,

    We are on track to reduce our debt, so the spending is on the down low. This week, two friends and I got together for our annual tomato day. We canned 550lbs for our 3 families in 8 hours. My house smelled like tomao soup all weekend , but our 110 x 1L jare will last our family of 4 the entire year including dinners with friends. That adds to the veggie antipasto, peach-apricot jam, regular salsa, beer salsa, beets, and onion jelly I already put into the pantry for this year. The canning cupboard is looking fine.

    I made a cute quilt with only leftover scraps, an upcycled blanket and traded sheet which will sell for about $285 and go towards debt payment. Also, I took all my remaining market stock to the store that sells my work, including some other quilts I had been hoarding. All the proceeds will be split between debt payment and buying new materials for new projects. The kids will be helping our frugal eneavors by using their old backpacks for the new school year beginning next Tuesday. We also spent a day at the indoor playgrond with some discount coupons we had on hand. I did some hexie piecing from scraps for those 5 hours, and visited a friend.

    My son has been finding money all over the place. Dollars under grocery store shelves. Money on the ground outside of a dog park, etc. He is saving it in his little piggy bank for a rainy day.

    I booked 2 appointments from a coupon book that Husbind purchased drom the firemans burn unit fundraiser. One for a free salt room session and one for a free pedicure. I can really use a pedi after all this time on my feet canning.

    Like

    • Wow – you’ve been a busy lady. I saw pictures of your tomatoes, good job. I can’t believe its back to school time already. I always made my kids use their backpacks (and school supplies) from the year before. I also must congratulate you on your debt repayment. That will help.

      Like

Leave a Reply

