Frugal Endeavors

Our wood shed is filling up!

July 26, 2016 to July 31, 2016

Still busy, and still trying the best we can to be frugal. We managed to keep up with our usual frugal activities, such as taking leftovers for lunch, hanging the laundry out to dry, and eating all our meals at home) as we worked towards getting ready for the future.

Shopping in town!

I started a new part-time temp gig in town. “Since I was in town any ways,”  I told myself, “I may as well pick up a few things.”  And that is how I ended up with another 3 months worth of shampoo, a bunch of beets, and two bags of the brown sugar I like and can never find. None of these items were on sale. However, I felt a little better because the case of peaches I bought were on sale for $0.99 a pound.

 

For my pantry challenge this week, I added the two bags of brown sugar to my stores and canned 10 pints of peaches. I froze the scraps from preparing the peaches. I am going to try and make jelly from these scraps. I like that I can freeze things like this and “play” with them later in the season when I have more time.

We have agreed to help the land lady from next door clean up a few things and she allowed us to collected several sheets of metal roofing that were left behind. We will use these when we extend our wood shed sometime in the future.

A former employee brought in yellow beans from her garden for the staff to share. I took a small bag home for dinner.

The Man went out and got another load of firewood. We are very close to having what we need for heat this year.

We put most of the garden to bed this week. It did not do as well as we had hoped. I am disappointed but this failure makes me even more grateful for the work that has come my way. I have been able to put enough money aside that we will be okay for groceries this winter. Without the extra work, a bad gardening year would have been devastating instead of only disappointing.

How about you? How was your week? What are you grateful for?

My gardening skills might need sharpening, but Mother Nature’s don’t. She planted a bunch of wild onions right in the middle of my comfrey.

 

 

Leave a Reply

