Frugal Endeavors

My lunch time view on Monday.

July 18 to July 25, 2016

The week began with more firewooding and berry picking. This will go a long way to keeping us warm and feed this winter.

We found a few last-of-the-season black currents and a large patch of huckleberries (which, I have now determined, are quite different from Saskatoon berries). There were not many left to pick, but we now know where and when to go next year! I also went up by our barn to check on the berry situation. The saskatoons are pretty much done for the season but I did find a plastic garbage bin under a bush in perfect condition. I have no idea how it got there. Of course I brought it home. I am sure that I will find a good use for it.

The most exciting thing to happen this week is that summer has finally arrived. I hung several loads of laundry out on our line in celebration.

My other frugal activities included taking left overs for my lunch and spending my lunch hour working on a stocking stuffer. Still thinking about Christmas, I dehydrated a couple of oranges that were languishing in the fridge. I will use these in a potpourri mixture I have been thinking about.

I recycled an empty hairspray bottle to store a leave in conditioner for when I do my hair.

I made a batch of gluten free flour mix and then used it and some pumpkin I froze last fall to make pumpkin gingerbread for lunches. When it the gingerbread was done, I was able to snack on plums that were gifted to use from the neighbor.

I failed my pantry challenge this week and I did not add a single thing to my pantry! I will try to do better next week as I adjust to my new schedule.

How about you? What were your frugal endeavors this week?

2 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. Had a job interview. I gotta get back to work. We need the money. On the upside, my tomatoes are still producing like crazy !!!

    Like

    • Good luck with the job interview. I know you will do well and that you are good employee. My tomatoes are just starting to bloom, believe it or not. Don’t think we will get any this year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

