Frugal Endeavors

July 5 to July 11, 2016

This was my first week of working full time hours at the grocery store. Even though I was a little bit tired working to make money, I wasn’t too tired to save some money. Here is what we did this week.

I cut the man’s hair – again. I wish my hair was this thick and grew this fast.

I used one of my days off to pick currants and Saskatoons. I gathered almost a whole bucket full of black currants. I made a syrup to turn into ribena. It was such a hit that I went back and picked more currants to make black currant jelly.

I am taking full advantage of canning season to meet my pantry challenge to build up my pantry. Despite my increasingly busy schedule this summer, I am hoping I will be able to preserve at least one thing a week. This will really help our food storage, especially if I can get to the apples, pears, and plumbs this year. This week’s contribution was three pints of Saskatoon pie filling, a jar of vegetable bouillon, and a couple of pints of black currant concentrate. This might not seem like a lot, but there are only two of us, and I believe that every jar represents money I won’t have to spend in the future. One jar or one dollar – it all adds up.

We went out into the bush to look for wild raspberries and thimbleberries. They weren’t ready yet, but we came back with a truck load (about ½ cord) of really good firewood.

Got a free loaf of free bread at work. Something went wrong and it wasn’t quite good enough to sell to the public.

We had family visit and we were able to gift them with potatoes from the garden and canning from the pantry. Food is always the right size and the right colour. They seemed to really appreciate the gifts.

How about you? Leave a comment below and tell me about what you did to save money this week.

Leave a Reply

