Rhubarb and Saskatoon Chutney

The summers of my childhood began with bright red steams of rhubarb dipped into bowls of sugar and ended with hands dyed purple from picking Saskatoons in the endless hours of sunshine.

Both rhubarb and Saskatoon berries were staples in our Northern diet and they could both be counted on to make an appearance every year. This chutney contains both of those staples.  

The recipe for this Rhubarb and Saskatoon Chutney can be found in the book Rhubarb: More than just pies.

If you have more rhubarb than you know what to do with, then this is the book for you!

Rhubarb and Saskatoon Chutney

Makes 12 cups

8 cups chopped rhubarb

8 cups chopped onions (yes, really. every year i have to take this book out of the library to double check that this is the right amount of onions. every year)

4 cups Saskatoon berries

3 cups cider vinegar

1 cup raisins

1 cup sugar

¼ cup candied ginger (or 2 tablespoons fresh grated ginger)

2 tsp ground cloves

2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

Combine all ingredients together in a Dutch oven or heavy pot.

Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes or until thickened, stirring frequently. Ladle into canning jars; seal and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

Yum!

11 thoughts on “Rhubarb and Saskatoon Chutney

  1. Ok. So I gotta know what you use the chutney for? If it’s pork, I’m not so much game.

    My frugal game has been tight this week! I’ve been drying my laundry outside and using up bit from the freezer, and making use of bits from the garden. But the big windfall came when I had a huge donation of kid themed fabric gifted to me. I am keeping the larger cotton bits for baby blankets of future tense, but chopped up all of the flannel. It will makeover 100 little dribble bibs for a Down Syndrome charity here in the city that makes care packages for new families of DS babies.

    My strawberries have already started sending out feelers for new plants, so I’ve been using those suckers to revive an upcycled blue palette garden that’s been struggling.

    We hit some sales this weekend and I refreshed my wardrobe with a few inexpensive bits and bobs, and we found an amazing deal on a patio set for my Mom too, saving over $300. One of the clothing bits is easy to reproduce so I got some great fabric on 50% off at fabricland to duplicate it 3 more time at the cost of $18 total.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow – you were on your frugal game this week! I’m planning to use the chutney on game – probably deer and maybe moose or elk if we are lucky. Not for you, I know, but I am also going to try it with cream cheese on rice crackers. I think that will work as well.
      I love that you are sewing for a Down Syndrome charity – you are still awesome!

      Like

    • I think it’s wonderful that you are sewing for the DS charity. My son has Down Syndrome and there were wonderful people that supported my husband and I when he was born nearly 23 years ago. Thank you so much for your support, new families need lots of love.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Frugal Endeavors | hip roof barn

  3. I’ve never heard of saskatoon berries before. What do they taste like? My rhubarb is ready for the picking so I’m always looking for new ways to use it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

