Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year – with a link to an awesome homemade mix for hot chocolate

020116_0101_Christmasis1.jpg

Whoo Hoo – despite being a little bit busy this month, I finished a couple of items for my advent calendar project.  Here is how Days 11, 12, and 13 turned out.

Outside

The exterior of Days 11, 12, & 13.

The exterior of Day 11 was covered with red paper and then I cut Christmas related words from magazines to add to the front. Day 12 was covered with wrapping paper. The number “12” was cut from a calendar and mounted on a circle cut from a security envelope and a circle from the same red paper used to cover Day 11. Day 13 was a Christmas ad from a magazine. I printed the word “Thirteen” out on paper using my computer.

Interior of Days 11, 12, & 13

Interior of Days 11, 12, & 13

I didn’t do anything too complicated for the interiors. Covered them with paper an printed off the quotes on my computer.

I also didn’t do anything too complicated for the items for these days. Day 11 will contain either homemade chocolates or caramels, which I won’t be making until later in the year.

I used this tutorial to make a mug cozy for Day 12. I use some yarn left over from making my new winter vest.

Here's a tip. If you make a mug cozy for someone, make sure it will actually fit around the cup!

Here’s a tip. If you make a mug cozy for someone, make sure it will actually fit around the cup!

 

A mug, mug cozy and this hot chocolate mix would make an excellent gift or stocking stuffer, if you were looking for a thoughtful, inexpensive gift. I’ve made this mix for my self and it is very tasty.

I was really lucky on one of my trips to the thrift store and I found a handkerchief embroidered with the recipient’s initial. It cost me a whole $0.25 of my bottle return money. Not a bad deal at all. It is going into the tin for Day 13.

Hanky

If you are not lucky enough to find a handkerchief, you can find an excellent tutorial to make your own at the Prudent Homemaker.

I added a little extra to this gift using leftover scrapbooking paper and an infographic from the internet. Having a hanky in your pocket is important – you never know when you might want to rob a stage coach.

 

Wrapped up and ready for Christmas.

Wrapped up and ready for Christmas.

How about you? Leave a comment and share your preparations for Christmas 2016.

3 thoughts on “Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year – with a link to an awesome homemade mix for hot chocolate

  1. I have a friend who is a wonderful seamstress and she can order custom fabrics so I am going to get each of my 3 grandkids pillowcases and matching small throw pillow with their names. It is going to cost me a bit but that’s ok. It will be something they can use their whole lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

