Frugal Endeavors

This week’s visitor to our property. He brought a friend with him.

June 14 – June 20, 2016

I covered a few shifts for another cashier who was not feeling well, so it was another week with lots of work. Despite the extra hours at work, I managed to remain fairly frugal this week.  Here is what we accomplished. 

The Man cooked a turkey for Sunday dinner. I bought the turkey last summer for a ridiculous price – a little less than $9.00. We had a couple of meals based on leftover and the rest of the meat was portioned out and put into the freezer.

While I was out and about, working my temp job, I spied some wild raspberries – already ripe! I picked a small handful and added it to my yogurt. Delicious and free.

Despite racking up the hours and making savings while I could, there were a few expenses that had to be dealt with. I paid the property taxes for the year and took out some cash for our new-to-us log splitter, bought on the local Buy and Sell. Unfortunately, there is no avoiding taxes, but I did save almost 50% by taking advantage of the home owner’s grant offered by our province. The log splitter will allow us to process the wood we need to keep us warm this winter more efficiently without sacrificing anyone’s back.

I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconut milk…

Since I am going to be broke till the end of the month, I figured I would be broke and well nourished. I stopped by the store and loaded up on fruits and veggies. For my pantry challenge this month, I added more coconut milk to the pantry. It was on sale for $2.00 a can, which is pretty cheap around here. I also got a liter of cheap olive oil to start infusing for my next batch of soap.

Despite working so much, I took the time to finish some projects.  I finished a vest for winter, a quilt top, and a small project for my Christmas advent calendar. I used this tutorial to cover a box to use as a storage container to keep my sewing area better organized. I am happy with the way it turned out and I think I will make a few more using boxes from work and fabric from my stash.

I find that working with my hands helps me to relax and keep things in balance.  It is my own form of meditation. I am finding that when I take the time to relax, even if it is only for half an hour or so, I can better focus on doing what needs to be done and not spending money either to soothe my anxiety or because I don’t have the mental capacity to see a solution that doesn’t require cash.

How about you? When life gets crazy, what do you do to relax and stay focused?

Turkey chicks. Included because they are just too darn cute.

Turkey chicks. Included because they are just too darn cute.

 

 

Leave a Reply

