Frugal Endeavors

 

Welcome home Monkey.

June 6 to June 13, 2016

This week I got more in the mail than bills, and it was all good. A friend sent me a skein really nice hand spun, hand dyed yarn to play with. She also returned a very special toy back to our house.

Many, many years ago I made a sock monkey from an old pair of my socks for my youngest son. He loved it for many years, and when he was a teenager, he gave it to a friend’s little boy. When the little boy grew older, he passed the monkey on to his little sister. Eventually, the little sister grew older and she decided that the monkey needed to come and live at my house until my youngest son has children of his own to love the monkey. I can’t tell you how touched I was by her unexpected gift.

We bought a bed frame of the local buy and sell to use for the new to us mattress for the guest room. It was almost brand new but we bought it for less than half the cost of a new one.

Instead of taking the easy road and going out for dinner, the man and I scrounged through the fridge, freezer and pantry for dinner. (yes, we forgot to defrost something…) The Man made himself beans on toast and I made myself some soup, which was tasty and filling. There was enough for lunch the next day.

The man sold a piece of equipment for his hobby to raise money for an upgraded piece of equipment and to pay a bill.

Dried my laundry in the sun.

A lady in our neighborhood gifted me with a pumpkin and tomato plant.

Fire season has begun. There was a grass fire in the neighborhood that shut down the highway and the power to our little village for several hours. Thankfully, it was contained, but it made us realized that we need to prepare better for power outages. I need to add small propane bottle to our pantry for my little camping stove so that we can cook or boil water when we can’t use the stove. Eventually, we will save up enough pennies for a generator to keep the deep freeze running and, more importantly, for our water purification system. We do not have a municipal water system here and we are responsible for purifying our own water. A bout of e.coli or giardia would not be frugal!

How about you? How was your week? Do you have any frugal tips for preparing for a prolonged electrical outage?

4 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. We ate quite a few cucumbers and tomatoes from my little garden as well as dill and chives. The potatoes are doing good so I’m hoping we can get a nice crop from them.

    Like

  2. How about a wind up portable generator to charge cell phones, rechargeable batteries, etc by turning the crank handle. You can get some brands for around 30 dollars. Hand crank flashlights with radio are good to have too.

    Like

    • We have lots, and lots of flashlights as well as oil lamps and oil. The charger for cell phones is a good idea but unfortunately our cell service is so bad out here that I usually can’t call anyone even when my cell is fully charged. The radio, on the other hand, is another excellent suggestion. During our little power outage, I could not get radio reception so I had no idea what was going on until we went to the gas station and asked the cashier. The gossip chain still works. Thanks for your suggestions!

      Like

Leave a Reply

