Frugal Endeavors

In the evening light these peonies are a deep red. I love peonies for their unabashed, lush femininity.

May 31 – June 6, 2016

Wow – this week went zooming by. Time sure does pass when you are busy! Here is what we did this week. Picked up a cardboard box from work to use in my car as an organizer. I have some idea’s I’m testing out for some kind of DIY car organizer.

While I was at work on Monday, the Man made me a lovely shrimp curry using up the bits and pieces of veggies from the fridge.

Tuesday was firewood day. We spent the morning out in the bush cutting firewood because winter is coming.

I visited a friend to take a look at her new home. It is very nice. She gifted me with some parsley, which is now drying. I will use it to make seasoning mixes.  Thanks S.!

Took my cheque to the bank. While I was in town, I took my bottles and cans for recycling and made $1.05 for my Christmas fund and I took some stuff on behalf of my neighbor to the thrift store. Of course I had to have a look while I was there. I spent my bottle money on a novel for lazy summer reading, something for the advent calendar, and a stocking stuffer.

We keep to our usual frugal practices. We ate all meals at home and hung the laundry out to dry. For my pantry challenge this week, I washed down the pantry and cleaned out all the old jars of food. Now I have a better idea of what I need and where everything is.

We took a look at the bank fees we are paying. We are committed to finding ways to reduce these fees, which in my opinion, are getting out of hand.

My wonderful neighbor is moving. We are sad to see her go but she is moving on to better situation. We did help her out by using our truck to move a couple of loads for her and she passed on a queen sized mattress and box spring to us that we will use in our guest room. The current bed in there is so old and broken down its criminal. She also passed on a table that may get used in the barn as a work bench.

The rest of the week was work, work, work. I spent a day working my temp job, a lot of time on an online gig, and I picked up an extra shift at the grocery store. Not only did I make some extra money, but I got to enjoy free air conditioning during a sudden heat wave.

So, what did you do this week? Leave a comment and let me know.

 

4 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. a section of old cedar fencing and the post were leaning badly, I took it all apart, tore out the old rotting post and cemented in a new post. next I will saw the fence boards to shorten them and replace stringers and then the boards. cost to date: Post was under $10 and today I bought a gallon of sale stain to renew the boards. $20.99 hopefully I will get the remainder of fencing power washed soon and give it all a coat of stain. not bad for a 74 year old gal. !! of course I make all my meals and hang laundry. ann lee s.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year – with a link to an awesome homemade mix for hot chocolate | hip roof barn

  3. Pingback: Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year – Advent up-date and a new stocking! | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

