Frugal Endeavors

 

The Medicine Tree

May 24, 2016 to May 30, 2016

A good week over all. I am glad, we need good weeks where nothing breaks down, no one gets sick, and everything flows smoothly, including our frugal endeavors. This is what happened this week.  

I got some good news this week. They asked me at work if I would like another, regular full time shift. I am hoping that this will continue into the fall and winter. If it does, it will make things a little easier for us. Fingers crossed.

Monday night I came home to a roasted chicken for dinner. A roasted chicken will last us for several days and this one was no exception. We leftovers on Tuesday, a couple lunches with chicken salad sandwiches, and chicken soup for Wednesday. There was enough soup for lunch the next day. It was chilly here this week, and soup was the right thing to warm me up.

While I was in the kitchen, I tried out a new recipe for blueberry muffins using the blueberries I picked and froze last summer. I also experimented with a ginger syrup recipe for upset tummies.

Even though I spent time working this week, I did make time to get outside and see what I could forage. The elder trees are all blooming and I wanted to gather some to make a batch of cold and flu tea. The tree about had fireweed, yarrow, and wild mint growing around it.  It was I had come across my own personal pharmacy right there in the middle of a field. I harvested my fill of elder flowers, yarrow, and wild mint.

I also had a good pantry challenge week. I picked up ginger to make the tummy syrup, potato starch to make my own gluten free flour mix, and the the Pamela’s gf pizza crust mix was on sale. Gluten free mixes almost never go on sale, so I consider myself lucky. The timing is good too, as Budget Bytes recently posted an pizza recipe that looks like it is worth trying.

 

$21.33 spent on the pantry this week.

 

 

That was my week.  Leave me a comment and tell me about yours.

3 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. It was a fantastic week frugal wise for us here in Calgary and I couldn’t help but think of you. First of all, Husbind and neighbor husbind (spelling intended) took down all of the deadwood behind our collective houses and shared it. It took a few evenings of work and some handy time with the chainsaw, but in the end saved us the cost of paying for the job to be done and reaped us almost a full cord of dry wood for the firepit.

    I started teaching Ceramics on the side and realized that I am indeed worth my hourly charge and more – a self realization that can be a hard admittance. It helps that I love what I am doing now. My Mom helps us keep the budget down by tending the kids before and after school when I need her to.

    We have been using up things from the freezer, and wasting much less food.

    I had the unexpected pleasure of finding some really low priced bedding plants at Walmart when I was there for a tomato cage, and for $30 I filled my pots, using extra black dirt my Mom had a few blocks away and some beautiful compost I had in the yard already from last years straw beds. I picked up 4 hanging baskets at Dollorama for a grand total of $12 also to hang in the gazebo – something I have wanted to do since we erected it 5 years ago. Moms dirt and Walmart plants went in there too. Now the yard is gorgeous and full of quietly growing veggies

    Like

  2. HI,
    So happy about your grocery job. I was wondering if you have your GF mix posted on the blog.
    I would love to try it GF is so exspensive so I just avoid bread and baked goods.
    Blessings,
    Patti

    Like

    • I don’t have the GF mix posted – yet. I will see what I can do in the next couple of weeks. Eating GF can be super expensive and making your own baked good is one way to control the cost. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

