Frugal Endeavors

Visitors at the barn. The bears are awake.

May 17 to May 23, 2016

A more relaxed and rainy week. I spent some time watching a bear trying to figure out how to get into the barn and some time reflecting on what I could learn from my frugal failures last week.  

I went through my stash of fabric and found some lovely green corduroy to cover two floor pillows  in my sewing room. Since I was a mess, sewing corduroy is messy business, I cut the Man’s hair.

I harvested and froze some more rhubarb.

I had to drive into town to take the garbage to the dump. While I was there, I went shopping in some of my boxes of stuff I have stored at my mom’s for some more bowls. I also found another big glass jar for pantry storage.

One of the lessons I learnt from last week was that I need to better plan my meals and my snacks. I know that I am a walking Snicker’s commercial when I am hungry and that hunger leads to bad decisions and me eating too much junk food.

This week, I made a batch of cookies for snacking on and I bought some chicken legs on sale at work. I cut these up  for dinners and snacks. I have one batch of thighs in the freezer with an Italian type of marinade and a batch of drumstick marinating in a Sriracha Honey mixture. I made easy oven barbecued drumsticks for work lunches and snacks. This worked pretty well and I am glad I have some snacks and a dinner in the freezer for when I need them.

While I feeling sorry for myself last week, I realized I couldn’t whip up any of my tasty comforting treats because I didn’t have any chocolate chips. As a result, I added a 1kg bag to my pantry for a little less than $9.00. This is my pantry challenge for this week. When chocolate chips go on sale, I am adding even more. Last week made me realize that baking supplies are a priority in my little world.

How about you? Leave a comment and tell me about your week.

Leave a Reply

