Frugal Endeavors

May 10 to May 16, 2016.

The man worked on fencing the garden. He made me a lovely gate from scrap lumber, paint and wire fencing. I think the garden he is building me is one of the best gifts anyone has ever given me.  He won’t let me post any pictures of it until he feels it will pass muster.

I am trying out a new recipe for homemade laundry detergent since the powdered form I was using doesn’t seem to dissolve as well as it use to. I was getting a little frustrated with finding white powder on my clean clothes. I used a couple of bars of old fashioned lard soap I made a few years ago. I’ve washed one load so far and it seems to be working. Of course I hung this load of laundry on the line to dry in the sunshine.

I picked up some cheese and pork chops on special during my shift at work.

For this week’s pantry challenge I bought a 10 pound bag of sugar and a bottle of soy sauce. I didn’t take a picture, so you will just have to use your imagination.

This week had its frugal fails. I had plenty of at-home-work to keep me busy but that didn’t keep me out of trouble.  I was feeling rich (pay cheque from the temp job was deposited) and I splurged on ice cream (on sale) chips and dip.  I should have spent that money on pantry items or at least healthier food, but I was hot and tired and, well, that’s what happened. This was followed by a couple of emotional days and trip to the dollar store where I spent more money spent then I wanted.

I forgot how tiring the first week back to work is after a period of unemployment. It is hard to stick to your frugal guns when you are tired and hungry and just don’t have the energy to make healthy food choices. The fatigue and junk food had a snow ball effect that lowered my resistance when faced with an emotional upset.

How about you? How was your week?  Please share your tips on how you remain frugal when faced with fatigue or emotional challenges? I appreciate the advice!

 

3 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. Ii have learned I Must keep a jar of soup in the freezer, and enough in the pantry (peanut butter, honey, noodles and ready made spaghetti sauce, for those times I need food and can’t or won’t cook …
    home made muffins in the freezer are a good idea too, if you can keep your hands off them. ha ha
    The home made soup is my go-to, when I’m sick, or coming home from a trip, etc.
    ann lee s

    Like

  2. Pingback: More Advent Calendar Fun – Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

