Frugal Endeavors

gopher

This little guy was hanging out in the wood pile. He is cute, but they are so destructive.

April 26 – May 2

A busy week. Usually this would mean little spending but not this week. I’m choosing to think of the extra money I spent as an investment in my future.

The good news is that I secured a temporary part time job that will pay well and be really interesting. This meant that I had to come up with money for gas to get to the training sessions, an official picture for my ID card, and for ingredients so that I could take my lunch. Fortunately, we were able to find the cash. I can only imagine how heart breaking it would be to miss an opportunity because of a lack of resources to even get to where you need to be.

I spent one afternoon out with my mom. We made a visit to the thrift store and she sent me home with a lily for my garden that she got from helping her neighbor dig up her front yard.

Unfortunately, The Man hurt himself and part of our initial grocery budget went to helping him get better. However, he listed a set of tires we don’t need on the local facebook buy and sell. They sold quickly and we spent some of that money on topping up our groceries and he set some aside so that we will have cash on hand for incidentals.

When I was out with my mom, I picked up a 2 liter jar. These jars are getting harder to find and I like them for storing dry goods in my pantry. I also bought two dozen new canning jar lids. I will use these later this summer or fall for home canned goods. In total, I spent $1.50 in the thrift store on these pantry items. Later in the week, we spent some of the tire money on a case of beans for the pantry. Whoo hoo – a good pantry week!

Pantry Challenge 3. $17 for a case of beans and $1.50 from the thrift store.

Leave a comment and tell me about your week.

 

7 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. I’m glad you were able to get the beans. Those are a really good kind, too–we love them.

    It is exciting that you found a job you will like, even if it is temporary. I hope it lasts a while for you, anyway. It would be awful to have an opportunity and not be able to come up with the $ to get there, for sure.

    And, I hope “The Man” gets better quickly from his injury. That’s never fun.

    Like

  2. You can usually get those five litre glass jars from local restaurants as many ingredients come in them and they usually just chuck them out or recycle them, they are also a great resource for five gallon buckets you can use for storing or globe buckets, excellent for growing tomatoes, peppers, ect

    Like

Leave a Reply

