Easy Gluten Free Peanut Butter Cookies

My friend Bev tells me that she was named after the jar of peanut butter sitting on the breakfast table. Like her namesake, she is a little nutty and she packs a lot of energy and goodness into a small package. We went for a hike last week and I don’t know if it was her company or if it was the exertion, but I was left with a craving for these peanut butter cookies.

Easy Gluten Free Peanut Butter Cookies

Cookies and milk

Makes 3 ½ dozen.

Ingredients:

Preheat oven to 350°F.Ingrediants

  • 1 cup sugar + a little more for sprinkling
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

Method:

  • Put all the ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix everything together.
  • Take about a teaspoon of dough and roll it into a ball

Roll the dough

  • Place on an ungreased cookie sheet.
  • Press with a fork

    Press with a fork

    Press with a fork

  • Sprinkle cookie with sugar

    Sprinkle with sugar

    Sprinkle with sugar

  • Bake for 10 minutes

When done, allow the cookies to cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before removing them to a wire rack to cool.

Store in an airtight container. I’m not sure how long you can keep them for because they get eaten in a day or two.

Cost:

These cookies are pretty inexpensive considering the cost of most store bought cookies. It cost about $2.00 for over three dozen cookies. I saved $0.30 by using an egg from my mom’s hens, so my costs were even less. Here is how I broke down the price:

Ingredient

Price per unit

Cost for this recipe

1 cup sugar A kilo of sugar is about $1.25. One cup of sugar weights about 200g, making each cup worth about $0.25. $0.25
1 cup peanut butter Generic peanut butter is selling for about $6.00 for a kilo (about four cups) or $1.50 a cup $1.50
1 teaspoon baking powder $0.01 per gram $0.04
1 egg Free range eggs are going for about $3.50 a dozen or about $0.30 each. I got mine free from my mom. $0.30
   Total: $2.09 for about 42 cookies or $0.05 each.

The peanut butter in these cookies makes them rich in protein, which may be why I really like these cookies in my lunch or as a quick snack. They also go really well with a large glass of cold milk.

If you make a batch, I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

 

 

One thought on “Easy Gluten Free Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Pingback: Frugal Endeavors | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

