Frugal Endeavors

Happy Spring!

Happy Spring!

March 14 to March 20, 2016

A good week all around. Spring is in the air, which means it’s time for yard work. 

The Man made a tool to fix our big weed wacker after watching a video on youtube instead of buying one for about $30.00. The cost to make one – about $0.05. We did spend a little more money in the “big city” on parts to repair our little weed wacker and small chain saw and spray to keep the ticks at bay. We used the remaining balance on the Prepaid VISA we used for our trip and we even had a little left over for lunch.

We continued to focus on eating down the freezer and not wasting our left overs. The Man made himself a hash for his lunch out of leftover Brussel sprouts, sweet potatoes, and a little bit of hash browns. He swore it was delicious.

I made myself a new bag using fabric from the never ending stash and a bit of leather from a jacket from the thrift store. I’ve made a couple of bags using this pattern and I have always been pleased with the way they turn out. I also made a heavy, quilted drawstring bag for The Man so that he can safely take a piece of equipment with him when he goes out to the bush.

I helped my mom clean out her chicken coop and took a crazy amount of duck eggs to a friend for her kids to decorate for Easter. My mom’s neighbor dug up her front garden and wanted new homes for some peonies and irises. I was happy to help. Next week there may be tiger lilies and daylilies looking for a new home.

I sent out more resumes and filled in more applications and finally, I landed a casual position at a local grocery store. It may not be many hours to start with, but it’s better than nothing and I’m grateful for the chance to earn even a little bit. We live in a resort town, so I am hoping that as the tourist season starts, my hours will increase.

What a relief!

How about you? Has spring made an appearance where you live?

6 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. Not much spring showing at my house yet other then the trails I kept shovelled for my dog in my small back yard. I have bought some flower seeds I am hoping to be able to plant in pots when my grandkids are here next week. We also got our new to us tent trailer set up on the garage so it can air out and get cleaned up and a few small holes repaired. Next will be to gather our camping gear to see what we need and possibly get thiose items passed on to us from Mom and Dad and save that expense 🙂

    Like

    • I love camping too. I bet you will have great time this year. I’ve done a lot of shopping at the store of Mom! That is a good idea though, to ask family members if they want to get rid of any camping gear. I know that I am happy to pass on things I no longer use and enjoy the empty space once my unused possessions leave. Win-win.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on the new job… hopefully it comes with a grocery discount, which would be very helpful!

    Spring has definitely sprung here in central Texas! We got our raised-bed gardens planted about three weeks ago, and the loquat trees are starting to ripen… I’ve heard loquats make for delicious jam, so I’m going to give it a try. Never done my own canning before, so wish me luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

