Frugal Endeavors

P1050450

Spring is on its way. These pretty little snowdrops were here to welcome us home from our trip last week.

March 8 to March 14, 2016

It seems like we spent a lot of time inside this week recovering from our adventures and avoiding the rain.

We did clean up the living room and set up our new-to-us couch. It is so nice. I can’t believe how lucky we were!

The sun did shine for a day. I took advantage of the solar energy to dry my first load of laundry on the clothesline. We also hauled some old boards down from the barn and made the first of 3 (4?) raised beds for this year’s garden.

I did spend a little money. I bought a couple of tickets to a local musical theatre production of Mary Poppins and treated my mom to an afternoon out. Of course, I can’t leave her house without her loading me down with gifts. This time they were all edible gifts – a dozen eggs from her hens, a couple of bananas that were about to turn that she didn’t want to deal with (hello banana bread!) and a box of frozen chicken breasts. All very much appreciated.

I bought myself a gift certificate for the groceries. I will continue to do this in the future because it really helped us stay on budget this week.

How was your week? What frugal tips do you use to save money at the grocery store?

 

5 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. I look for the discounted items. Some things are close to expiry date but still good. I can get them from 30-50% off regular price which saves a lot. I also buy in bulk as I have a large pantry to store the extra. I re-use margarine containers to use as storage or to freeze leftovers in.

    Like

    • Gotta love the margarine “poorman’s tupperware!” It has so many uses. I also buy the discounted items and shop in bulk, but I don’t often find items for 50% off. Those are excellent finds!

      Like

  2. I have saved a couple of hot chocolate containers for my when my grandkids come visit so they can paint them or sparkle them up and make piggy banks. Each will have their own and Grandpa and I can put money in so they have some treat money for their next visit ☺️

    Like

  3. Pingback: Frugal Endeavors – winter continues | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

