Frugal Endeavors

P1050397

I love it when the lake is calm and acts like a mirror.

February 15, 2016 to February 21, 2016

The sun made an appearance this week and I can almost believe in the possibility of spring. Here is how we managed this week.

We drove my son home to his city over the mountain. There is a large Canadian Tire there and we used our stash of Canadian Tire money to buy a much needed tool.

The next morning we awoke to find that the power was out. I used the water in the cast iron kettle on the wood stove to make coffee and read a magazine borrowed from my mom instead of surfing the internet.

We did well this week saving money on our groceries. We had enough punches on our punch card for a free jug of milk at a local grocery store. A couple of days later, I took my first long walk down my windy road to the same store to buy myself some coffee cream on sale for half price. It took about an hour, but I really need the exercise. The ham bone my mom sent us home with last week had enough ham on it for sandwiches and a meal of sliced ham and scalloped potatoes. The bone flavoured a big pot of ham and bean soup that fed us for an additional 2 meals.

I darned a pair of wool socks and a hole in The Man’s sweater. I made laundry soap and dried my clothes on a rack by the stove. I can’t wait until it is warm enough to start using my clothes line again.

The sun seems to be waking everyone up from their winter hibernation. I talked to a friend long distance using a free internet phone service. I spent an evening with some other friends eating and talking. The next morning I walked down my hill for a second time  to have coffee with another friend at a local coffee shop.

How about you? How did you save money this week?

3 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. I saved money part of the time, but spent money at other times. I guess I’m just glad I had some money to spend, as I was so exhausted I just hit the wall, so to speak. There are times when I am just so tired that I cannot do everything correctly, and that’s ok. I need to allow that.

    We’ve had some lovely weather this week and I’m glad you got to go out and enjoy yours. My days have been so busy I’m afraid I will be free when it begins to rain again and miss the sunshine today brought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

