Advent Calendar – Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year.

Over the years, I have eaten a lot of Altoid mints. I also have an affinity for small metal containers and I never throw them out. As a result, I had a drawer full of empty tins that need to be repurposed. I was inspired by a blogger who made an advent calendar from similar tins to try making my own. 

All containers

I used several different materials to cover the tins, including used Christmas cards, fabric, an old transit map, pages from a book, images from magazines, chocolate bar wrappers, wrapping and scrapbook paper, and the insides of security envelopes.

I used several coats of modpodge to adhere the paper or fabric to the tins and then used a spray varnish to protect the boxes. I also decorated the insides of the tins and included a quote. There are several, very good tutorials on the internet that explain how to cover Altoid tins. I used this one >> Altoid Tin Tutorial.

 

December 12 made with wrapping paper, image from a magazine, and the inside of a security envelope.

December 12 made with wrapping paper, image from a magazine, and the inside of a security envelope.

the inside of this tin was painted. The quote was printed out on my computer.

The inside of this tin was covered with paper from an ad in a magazine. The quote was printed out on my computer.

The quotes that I included in several of the tins were printed out on my home printer. I don’t recommend this method as the modge podge can make the ink run.

The year that I sent the calendar to my eldest, he was coming to visit for Christmas, so I did not make a tin for the 23rd or the 24th. I will make these tins this year as well as a replacement for the 5th of December, which is also missing.

If you aren’t keen on messing around with paper and glue, there are many other DIY advent calendars that can be made inexpensively or for free using recycled materials. Here are a few I found.

So cute!

Crochet Stocking Advent Calendar - Make this fun and festive holiday countdown to Christmas! Crochet Along as the patterns are released, or work at your own pace.

A really good round up with many, many ideas can be found here:

Diy Advent Calendar Made Of Boxes

 

I did this one year for a couple of my favorite kids. The books all came from second hand stores and garage and library sales:

Countdown to Christmas: Book Advent Calendar from The Cottage Mama. This is SUCH a great idea to do with kids!!

If you are trying to focus less on material things, try an activity oriented advent calendar:

things to put in an advent calendar

The easy part is making the calendar. Finding and making gifts that fit into the tins and that suit the receiver is more of a challenge. I’m glad I have the better part of a year to get ready! I’ll let you know what I include in each tin.

Don’t be shy! Leave a comment.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Advent Calendar – Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year.

  1. I’ve always loved Advent calendars and this is just a great idea! I might have to eat more mints!! Thanks from all of us at Throwback Thursday for linking up to us this week! We can’t wait to see what you’ll bring next week. 🙂

    Mollie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

