Frugal Endeavors

Meat Draw

February 1 – February 7, 2016

Lady Luck helped me out this week with the grocery budget.

I wrote an exam for a temporary government position. I had to do math, so we will see how it goes. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. In the meantime, I am sending out more resumes.

A local grocery store is running a contest. Occasionally, a coupon forms part of the ballot. I won a free jar of mayonnaise!

We turned a $7.00 chicken into a roast chicken dinner, chicken curry, chicken noodle soup for lunch, and curry and chips, which I am told is a Scottish delicacy. I used some of my summer bounty stored in the freezer to make zucchini fritters and pumpkin molasses cake. I have also been drinking smoothies and using up the blueberries I picked this summer and froze.

I started sewing a stocking for next Christmas.

I did some spring cleaning in our bedroom, including removing three (old and dead) wasp nests. I don’t know how the people who lived here before us could sleep with stinging insects flying around their bed.

Some of the girls from work were looking to get together. We went to the meat draw at the Legion. It is exactly what it sounds like. You buy tickets and every half hour they draw and if your ticket wins, you take home a package of meat. We had a good time. I spent about $5.00 on coffee, a bag of chips and tickets for the draw. I won two pounds of ground beef! This will feed us for several meals.

How was your week? Did luck play a role in your frugal endeavors?

One thought on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. The meat draw sounds amazing! I had the best crafting themed frugal luck this past weekend. I went to a pop up flea market and got a very nice fleece blanket it that will be the innards of a quilt I’m making, plus a bag full of clothes besides for $5. Went to the upcycling craft center next and found a huge used quilter’s cutting mat for $5…a big deal since they normally run about forty bucks new. I *knew* if I waited long enough one would crop up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

