Frugal Endeavors

  • Christina Lake WinterJan 3 2016

Well look at that, it’s 2016. Happy New Years everyone.

Our income took another hit this last month. 2016 will be a year requiring creativity and resourcefulness. I’m always up for a challenge.

After Christmas dinner with my mom and brother, we brought the turkey carcass home along with a huge box of homemade chocolates. We stretched the turkey till it screamed. We ate leftover turkey for dinner for 5 days after Christmas and I still had enough leftover to make a few meals for the freezer. We have been treating ourselves to a homemade chocolate (or 2) after dinner. At this rate, those homemade chocolates will last us for several more weeks. I did put a few in the freezer for Valentine’s Day.

I combined bits and pieces of fruit with a can of pineapple to make a fruit salad that served for breakfast for several days.

We went into town for a day to run a few errands. We returned a Christmas gift for the correct size and I asked about a short term position they had open. We went to the grocery store and only bought what was on our list. We traded in points and got a 10 pound bag of potatoes for free.

Dried clothes by the fire cutting down on the electric bill and adding a little humidity to our home.

I finished another table runner using scrap fabric, batting leftover from my winter quilt, and part of an old sheet for the backing.  I followed a quilt-as-you-go tutorial found online. I am very happy with the way this one turned out and I might have enough leftover to make a small mat to put under my printer.

Believe it or not, but I actually started planning for next Christmas. Right after Christmas, my head is full or all kinds of christmas ideas so I write them down and organize any materials I have on hand. I really dislike the panic and time squeeze that can come with last minute Christmas preparations and I find that a little work in January can make the following Christmas less stressful.

How was your holiday? Any plans for 2016?

5 thoughts on “Frugal Endeavors

  1. I hope things get better soon for you. Sounds like though you had a great savings week. We started our no spend January and I’ve been watching our pennies even more. Thanks for the link to the table runner -sounds like something fun to sew. Have a great day.

    Like

  2. I am enjoying your blog!

    Would you be willing to share some of what you do over the next few weeks to prepare for next Christmas? I agree with you – feeling rushed and stressed over the Christmas holidays makes it much more of a chore than a holiday!

    Thanks for the time and effort you put into your blog!
    Beth

    Like

  3. Pingback: Keeping Christmas in your heart all the year. | hip roof barn

Leave a Reply

