Winter is here – Boxing day traditions

I’m not much of a shopper and the thought of spending the day in a mall with too many people fills me with dread.

The bigger the mess, the better the baking tastes.

The bigger the mess, the better the baking tastes.

Instead, I spend Boxing day morning making a mess in my kitchen before heading out to stomp around in the snow looking for the perfect tree to decorate for the birds.

This year I made myself a loaf of gluten free cranberry orange bread. This recipe is an old standby and it never fails to please.

I squeezed an orange that was languishing in the fridge to get the 1/4 cup of juice needed for this recipe. I scraped out the orange peel and made a couple of bird feeders to feed the lonely winter sparrow who lives somewhere by the front of the house.

P1050235

Bird feeder from an orange peel

I also made some suet cakes and strung some popcorn and cranberries on a string to make a garland. The leftover popcorn will be given to the wild turkeys when they come to visit and the leftover cranberries will be frozen.

All done.

All done.

While the bread was cooling, I bundled up and headed out the door.  I found my tree behind the barn and set to work. I disturbed a grouse while I was decorating, so I know that someone will benefit from my labours. One day, I would like to take a bunch of kids with me and make a party of it with a campfire and hot chocolate but right now,  I relish my time alone in the forest as it sleeps under its blanket of snow.

 

 

By the time I was finished and made it home, my bread was cool enough to eat by the fire.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Cranberry Orange Bread

How do you spend Boxing day?  Leave a comment below.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Winter is here – Boxing day traditions

Leave a Reply

