Frugal Endeavors

Merry Christmas

December 14 to 21

My whole world here is covered in a blanket of snow.

It’s very pretty when I look out my windows, but it makes it very hard to find the motivation to do anything.

This week most of my frugal accomplishments were a result of my laziness. Too much work to go out and spend any money.

Curled up on the couch one night to watch a movie on a DVD that we hadn’t watched yet.

Finished a couple of more Christmas gifts including a sock monkey from a pair of socks I had on hand. I used the pattern that was printed on the label of the socks but it pretty much looks like this one: Sock monkey directions.  I also made some catnip mice for the cats next door. I used some wool suiting left over from other projects and I had the catnip in my pantry.

Used drying rack to dry clothes by the fire.

All meals were eaten at home with the exception of Chinese buffet as a gift from my mom to celebrate me and my sweetie’s birthdays.

Picked up a few books from the library for reading beside the fire.

Went out back, cut down a tree, drug it home, and decorated it. This really was a highlight for me. It’s been years since I’ve put up a Christmas tree and I have missed it. I retrieved my box of ornaments from storage. Several didn’t make it but that’s okay. I realized that when I threw out those ornaments, I was also throwing out some unhappy memories since the ornaments reminded me of, well less happy days. Now I have room for new memories and excuses to craft new ornaments for next year. I did make a pair of these because they were so stinking cute, I couldn’t wait till next christmas:

Merry Christmas everyone. See you in 2016.

Leave a Reply

