Frugal Endeavors

Rose hips

Rose hips

September 27 – October 4

Another busy couple of weeks but it should slow down now that I’m off work again at least for a couple of weeks.

Cleaned up my beehive and gathered all the remaining honey (about ¾ of a liter) after the bears got into it. My poor bees. Hopefully next year will be a better year.

My neigbour gifted me with a very large zucchini. I turned it into a batch of pickles, a loaf of zucchini bread and a fritters for dinner one night. It was a very big zucchini. After cleaning out my raised beds, I traded her the last of my cherry tomatoes and green peppers for a couple acorn squash.

Reused the roasted chicken from Sunday night dinner to make curry that provided one lunch and two dinners for us. I used the carcass to make stock for soup one night and to add to the freezer.

Gathered rosehips and more nasturtium seeds. The rosehips I made into a tincture and the nasturtium seeds I am saving for next year.

Repurposed a glass olive oil bottle as a dispenser for the sunflower oil that can in a cheap, hard to pour plastic bottle.

Went to the dentist for two small fillings. It might not seem like a frugal move but I am hoping to prevent expensive dental work such as root canals and crowns down the line.

How did you save money this week?

Leave a Reply

