Frugal Endeavors

Autum grass by the lake

Autumn grass by the lake

September 6 to 13

Over the weekend, we prepared several meals from our garden. Roast pork with roasted potatoes, leftover pork with mashed potatoes and gravy and Shepard’s pie. The neighbor kids came over with some pears from another neighbor’s tree. We let them pick their fill of tomatoes from the mutant tomato plant and dig for potatoes. They really enjoyed digging for their dinner and playing in the dirt. We spent holiday Monday puttering around the house and the yard in the morning then spent the afternoon out in the bush.

I picked up an extra day of work this week. This should make up for getting the day off on Monday.

I started working on a new winter quilt. I should have enough scraps leftover from years of other projects that I should not have to buy any new fabric (that would be a first!)

We took a truck full of stuff to the dump and the recycling ($3.00 saved).

Found Hellmann’s mayonnaise was on sale for 3.97 and I had a coupon for $2.00 and I get a dollar back from Checkout 51! I don’t think I’ve ever bought name brand mayo for .97 cents before!

Stopped by and visited with my mom and she gave me a dozen eggs from her chickens. I harvested honey from my beehive before the bears get it all before heading out to a work function (dinner provided!)

The week ending with another quiet weekend at home. Worked on my quilt, started a couple of dresser scarves for my bedroom using a wool fabric from my stash and downloaded a couple of free cookbooks.

How was your week?

Leave a Reply

