Bobbins for Embroidery Floss

Featured image for bobbins

I don’t like to use embroidery floss straight from the skein as it tangles very easily. When I started my latest cross stitch project, I realized that I did not have enough cardboard bobbins (these are the ones I usually use http://www.amazon.com/DMC-6101-Cardboard-Bobbins-56-Pack/dp/B004GJBHO4/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1432332788&sr=8-4&keywords=bobbins+for+floss ) to wind my thread. These easy to make cardboard bobbins prevent tangles and keep my sewing box neat and tidy.

 

 

 

 

Empty cereal box, scissors, foam brush, Mod Podge, Scrapbook paper

Empty cereal box, scissors, foam brush, Mod Podge, Scrapbook paper

Collect a pieces of cardboard (I used a cereal box), modge podge, a foam brush, scissors, pencil, scotch tape, and old gift card, and an old cardboard bobbin. You will also need some decorative paper. I used scrapbook paper but you could use wrapping paper, the inside of a security envelope, or even a page from an old book for a literary touch.

 

 

Cover the cardboard with the paper

Cover the cardboard with the paper

Coat one side of the cardboard with a coat of Mod Podge.  Place your paper on top and coat the paper with another coat of Mod Podge.  Use an old gift card to smoosh out any air bubbles. Allow the Mod Podge to dry.  Flip the cardboard over and repeat these steps.

 

 

 

 

 

Trace bobbin template

Trace bobbin template

When the second side has thoroughly dried, use the old floss bobbin as a template and draw out as many new bobbins as will fit on the cardboard. Cut out each bobbin.

 

 

 

Add label from floss

Add label from floss

To label the bobbins, remove the wrapper with the identifying number from the skein of floss. Cut it to size and fold it over the top of the bobbin so that the number will be clearly visible.  Use scotch tape to tape the label to the bobbin. Cut two small slits on either side of the label to hold the floss.

 

 

 

 

 

Wind floss

Wind floss

 

Wind your floss around the bobbin. Anchor the ends on the floss in the small slits.

 

 

 

 

 

 

New floss all neat and tidy

New floss all neat and tidy

All done!

Happy crafting.

2 thoughts on “Bobbins for Embroidery Floss

    • Thanks for the compliment! I always run out of bobbins or forget where I put them. I figured that making my own would prevent me from spending even more money. As an added bonus, they are much sturdier than the standard cardboard ones from the store.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

